It’s the final countdown

In exactly 3 months Elon iMedia will be hosting our Capstone Exhibition, and in exactly 3 months and 1 day we will be graduating. WHOA. Where did the time go? Wasn’t it just yesterday I was in Costa Rica? There are pangs in my heart as I type this. Must. Continue.

With the milestone of the countdown, I have taken it upon myself to add more content to my portfolio in order to best display my skills as a front-end developer and designer-ish for the web. My independent study is responsible for these projects, but I am trying to base them off of real applications and sites that have the potential of being used.

I complete the homepage of a website for my undergrad. I was on the soccer team, and for the past 4 years we have dedicated one October game to the fight against breast cancer. Our fundraiser idea has catapulted the school into being more aware and active with this cause and our games have led to a great amount of money being dedicated to Susan G Komen. But with the digital age we are in, everyone wants to be able to be active online, so, to pertain to these people I create a website for Cougs Kick Cancer. You can view it here.

The site has some tweaked JS that I completed and is formatted with HTL5. I will hopefully complete this by the weekend.

Next up our some JS projects, and its hard to figure these out. I’m not looking into writing out completely new JS for crazy functions (at least not yet). But, being able to prototype (rapidly) I have to better understand JS markup. So projects. I’m going to go ahead and make the navigation bars and such for my capstone app, but there needs to be more. I have a couple big project ideas, but I need to start off small. And then I found this.

A BOOK ENTIRELY DEVOTED TO HTML5/JS PROJECTS! WHAT?!?!?!

So, in the next couple of days I am going to complete these. Whoopie! No really, I’m excited.

Don’t worry, I am not slacking on my Codecademy, but I need to move on and grow as a JS developer.

If anyone has some good ideas on projects I am more than happy to take you up on them. This weekend is going to be busy as I have taken on some new responsibilities and because my mother is coming next weekend and I would like to NOT spend hours in a suite while she twiddles her thumbs. I need my momma time. So, if you don’t here from me, just bring me some coffee.

Peace, love, and ternary operators.

Leave a Reply

