JavaScript’s Realm

Alright, I am a tad bit delayed here but there’s been yet another explosion of knowledge that had locked me up into JavaScript and I have finally escaped.  For those of you who don’t know, I am completing Codecademy.com which reminds me of those summer websites schools give to children to complete so they don’t forget their multiplication tables in the next three months.  This website deconstructs JS (JavaScript) to the bare bones and rebuilds its structure while teaching you what all its components are (variables, functions, etc).  What I didn’t know was the amount of math this involves, and though I don’t hate math, I won’t lie that a perk of this graduate program was the distance it (was supposed to) put between me and math.  Oh well.  Win some, lose some.  It’s not all bad.

Before we continue, why am I learning this?  Well I was given a helpful hint about my future career prospects: to know what they are looking for go look and see what they require on their job posts.  Der.  Well, many front-end web developers do a lot with JavaScript, however more is being done due to the explosion of HTML5 and its animation capabilities. This is where JS steps in.  It is expected of developers to complete rapid prototyping, which means I would run to my office after a meeting for an hour and create a wireframe of JS to what the site will be able to do.  Currently that hour stands for about a week with me, but the minutes are slowly decreasing.

So, anyways, I need to learn this.  Also, this steps into mobile and my capstone so it has all formed one large circle of knowledge that I am learning.

Anyways, Codecademy is kicking my butt, mostly due to the fact that I am not applying these components yet.  Everything works fine in the small lessons, but I haven’t made the transition yet to full function JS animation and I know it will stop me short.

The good news is that I have completed most of my studies on HTML5/CSS3.  I’m always going to look back and learn new things, but to have the initial grasp and memorization of the fundamentals is key, and I can do that.  Woo!  Plus I’ve started tweaking CSS functions to do my own things.  Oh, yeah.

For those of you who have no idea what the hell JS is, here’s a small piece of script:

var power = function (base, exponent) {
var result = 1;
for (var i = 0; i < exponent; i++) {
result = result * base;
}
return result;
};

power(2, 2);

It’s super fun. And no, I’m not being sarcastic.

I’m hoping by Friday I can sit down and complete one rapid prototype of basic function. HTML/CSS are definitely my favorite things to do with web, but this shouldn’t be too bad.  Speaking of web design, check this out:

Its. So. True.

I’ve created a little how-to for myself when it comes to how to do the actual prototype and the key elements in making a good one. If you would like to see it just email me and I’ll pass it along, but I got most of the information from here:

http://www.slideshare.net/pbakaus/rapid-prototyping-with-jquery

I feel slidershare’s are underrated. They do some awesome stuff.

I need to get back to my JS academy… Peace, love and divs.

Leave a Reply

